CBSE Syllabus for Class 9

Before students commence their academic year for class 9, it is important for them to understand the syllabus in detail. Understanding the framework of the CBSE class 9 syllabus will help students a lot during their educational journey. As the class 9th CBSE syllabus lays the foundation for higher studies, especially high school and intermediate exams, it covers all the basic concepts that will be taught on advanced levels in subsequent classes.

Let’s learn more about the syllabus along with its objectives.

Objectives of CBSE Class 9 Syllabus

The CBSE Class 9 syllabus has been crafted with precision to provide students with the required education. It has also been designed keeping in mind the need for holistic learning and development among students. The major objectives of the CBSE board 9th class syllabus are:

  • To provide a strong foundation in all basic secondary-level concepts of Maths, Science, English, Hindi, and Computers.
  • Promote critical thinking and encourage students to analyse and evaluate information
  • Nurturing creativity and innovation through digital literacy
  • Prepare students for higher education and provide them with skills to excel in subsequent board exams
  • Enhance their understanding of culture, history, and environment

CBSE Class 9 Detailed Syllabus

Mathematics: The Class 9 Mathematics syllabus includes concepts on algebra, geometry, statistics, and more, to help students with fundamental mathematical understanding and problem-solving techniques. Through topics like linear equations, geometric shapes, and data analysis, students learn to develop critical thinking, analytical, and reasoning skills.

Science: In the CBSE board 9th class syllabus for Science, students get introduced to the advanced spheres of physics, chemistry, and biology. The science syllabus usually includes practical experiments, theoretical concepts, and their real-world applications.

English: The English class 9 CBSE syllabus focuses on language proficiency, literature, and communication skills. With this, students learn different forms of literature, grammar rules, and writing styles. This helps with their comprehension as well as communication skills.

Social Science: Social Science is one of the primary subjects in the CBSE board class 9 syllabus and focuses on history, geography, political science, and economics. The social science syllabus aims to enhance the students’ understanding of society, culture, and global matters. They learn about ancient civilisations, present-day government structures, and the significance of democracy.

Hindi: The Hindi syllabus for CBSE class 9 is all about understanding language comprehension, grammar, and literature. Students explore the world of Hindi literature with poetry and prose. They also learn about several linguistic components.

Computer Science: In the Computer Science CBSE class 9 syllabus for 2024, students will learn about programming languages, algorithms, data structures, and computer applications. 

FAQs on Class 9 CBSE Syllabus

Q1. How many subjects are there in class 9?

The major subjects in the CBSE class 9 syllabus include Mathematics, English, Hindi, Social Science, Science, and Computers Studies.

Q2. Does Class 9 have board exams?

No, class 9 does not have CBSE Board exams.

Q3. Is 9th class harder than 10th?

Class 9 CBSE serves as a foundation course for class 10. Hence, it covers all the basic concepts on the secondary level Mathematics, Science, Hindi, English, and Social Studies. However, with diligent study habits and support, students can excel in both classes.

Q4. Is 3rd language compulsory in CBSE class 9?

Yes, as per the new National Curriculum Framework, it is important for students in CBSE class 9 to study three languages, of which two must be Indian native languages.

Q5. Is the NCERT syllabus going to change in 2024?

Yes, the NCERT is planning to change the CBSE syllabus in 2024 and the new textbooks introduced will be as per the National Curriculum Framework (NCF).

Admission Enquiry