CBSE Syllabus

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is the national board of education under the Government of India that was formed with the objective of imparting quality education to students in public and private schools. All the schools affiliated with the CBSE Board follow the NCERT curriculum for classes 1 to 12. The CBSE curriculum is most ideal for students who wish to appear for competitive exams like JEE, NEET, etc.

Here, we will go through the CBSE curriculum for classes 1 to 12 in detail.

Features & Objectives of the CBSE Curriculum

The main features and objectives of the CBSE curriculum are:
  • The curriculum provides quality, stress-free, and holistic education to all children.
  • The CBSE curriculum has ample scope for students’ physical, intellectual, and social development.
  • This curriculum also prescribes curricular and co-curricular activities to nurture life skills, improve self-esteem, and develop empathy towards others.
  • The CBSE curriculum promotes inclusive education by providing equal opportunities to all children.

CBSE Syllabus 2024-25

The CBSE curriculum covers all the necessary subjects from classes 1 to 12. The Board revises the syllabus from time to time to stay in line with global education standards. The NCERT syllabus forms the basis of preparation for most of the national-level examinations. Hence, it is important for both students and teachers to stay informed about the syllabus.

CBSE Syllabus for Class 1 to 12

Now, let’s take a look at the CBSE syllabus for classes 1 to 12. This will help you understand what will be covered in the CBSE curriculum and prepare accordingly.

CBSE Class 1 Syllabus

Students start their journey of formal education from class 1. The class 1 CBSE Board syllabus is designed to ignite an interest towards studies among students. The class 1 CBSE Board textbooks explain basic concepts using poetry, short stories, infographics, and pictures.

CBSE Class 2 Syllabus

The class 2 CBSE syllabus is designed to inculcate creativity in the students and build curiosity to learn new things. The syllabus includes stories and poetry and focuses on building the habit of reading and writing.

CBSE Class 3 Syllabus

Students can read and write properly in class 3. The CBSE class 3 syllabus is designed to make learning fun and teach basic topics like money, patterns, etc. The English and Hindi curriculum in class 3 also helps in developing students’ language skills.

CBSE Class 4 Syllabus

The CBSE class 4 syllabus is designed to help students explore and learn about various things around them. At this stage, the young minds are very sharp and they grasp such information very quickly. Hence, the learnings at this age stick with them for the rest of their lives.

CBSE Class 5 Syllabus

At this stage, students start developing their questioning abilities. The CBSE class 5 syllabus is designed to develop the students’ scientific and reasoning thought processes that will help them in learning different methods to find solutions to any problem.

CBSE Class 6 Syllabus

Class 6 is the beginning of high school in the CBSE curriculum. In the class 6 CBSE syllabus, students will learn about vital concepts in science, maths, and social science. They also delve deeper into English and Hindi literature.

CBSE Class 7 Syllabus

In the class 7 CBSE syllabus, students are taught important topics in maths, science, and other subjects. Though the pressure of studies is not too high at this stage, understanding these concepts helps students in their further studies.

CBSE Class 8 Syllabus

Class 8 is an important phase in a student’s academic journey. Here, they learn fundamental concepts of the topics that they will study in higher classes. The class 8 CBSE syllabus consists of 5 key subjects- Hindi, English, maths, social science, and science & technology.

CBSE Class 9 Syllabus

In class 9, students are introduced to the study pattern for the CBSE Board examinations. The class 9 CBSE syllabus offers a deeper understanding of the topics covered in different subjects. Practical examinations are also introduced in class 9.

CBSE Class 10 Syllabus

The CBSE class 10 syllabus helps students prepare for the All India Secondary School Examination, also known as the CBSE class 10 board exams. Hence, it is crucial for students at this stage to be aware of the CBSE board syllabus for 2024 and prepare accordingly.

CBSE Class 11 Syllabus

At this stage, students choose their stream of education- arts, science, or commerce. This is a crucial year as it builds the groundwork for the class 12 board exams. The subjects covered in the CBSE class 11 syllabus will vary for each stream.

CBSE Class 12 Syllabus

This is the most crucial stage in a student’s school life as it is the final year before they move on to pursue higher education. The CBSE class 12 syllabus helps students prepare for the All India Senior School Certificate Examination, also called class 12 board exams.

FAQs on CBSE Syllabus

Does CBSE use the NCERT syllabus?

Yes, all the schools affiliated with the CBSE Board must follow the NCERT syllabus for classes 1 to 12.

Is 2nd language compulsory in CBSE?

Yes, in classes 11 and 12, students will have to study two languages, including one of Indian origin.

What is the new CBSE syllabus?

The CBSE Board revises the syllabus from time to time to stay in line with the global education system. The new CBSE 2024 curriculum helps students prepare for national-level competitive exams like JEE and NEET.

Which subjects are compulsory in CBSE?

The CBSE curriculum generally has 4 compulsory subjects in class 10. These include English, social science, maths, and any second language chosen by the student.

Admission Enquiry