ICSE Syllabus for Class 4

The ICSE class 4 is the academic year that is characterised by a deeper exploration of core subjects, as compared to previous classes. This class marks a critical phase in a student’s life to master the fundamental concepts before transitioning from primary to secondary education classes.

The ICSE class 4 syllabus aims at a comprehensive and all-round development of students through cognitive and children-centric approaches. By the end of the academic year, students will develop essential problem-solving and critical-thinking skills, setting the stage for competitive world challenges.

Objectives of ICSE Class 4 Syllabus

Class 4 builds upon the foundational knowledge that the students have acquired in earlier classes. Here are the key objectives of the ICSE class 4 curriculum:
  • The ICSE curriculum is structured in a way to promote a balanced learning experiencefor students, between academics and extra-curricular activities.
  • The advanced class 4 syllabus provides a deeper exploration of core subjects, helping students gain a broader understanding of concepts of Maths, Science, Social Studies, and Computers.
  • The ICSE curriculum also puts a significant emphasis on promoting digital literacy through classroom and practical sessions.
  • Along with building fundamental skills, the curriculum is also structured to help students work in teams and improve their social skills.

ICSE Class 4 Detailed syllabus

  • Computer Studies
  • Promoting advanced technology and digital concepts, the curriculum helps students understand the unique operations of software, tools, and features of computers. It helps students independently work on tasks assigned to them during practical sessions.

  • Social Studies
  • Social studies consist of a range of intriguing topics revolving around the stories of past civilisations, concepts of geographical maps, domains of Earth, and other topics having a significant impact on our Earth. The subject helps students stay informed and well-accustomed to our democratic society.

  • Science
  • Providing insight into the human body, animals, plants, and basic concepts of physics, the subject covers every topic necessary for students to have a better understanding of their surroundings and natural habitat. The subject invokes curiosity in students, allowing them to learn about the basic science behind the human body, animals, plants, and beyond.

  • Maths
  • Moving to a level up, the mathematics subject covers reading and writing numbers up to six digits, understanding Roman numbers, units of measurement, and exploring concepts of time, data graphics, money, geometry, fractions, and probability. Most of the concepts taught in this class cover the basic understanding of mathematics topics in higher classes.

  • English & Second Language
  • The comprehensive syllabus of English and second languages is divided into three sections, covering short stories, poems, and grammar. Dividing the subjects into three sections allows students to understand the fundamentals of framing sentences in proper English and regional languages.

  • Arts Education
  • Students are exposed to fun and creative activities of art and crafts. The subject allows students to understand and differentiate between unique shapes, patterns, and improve their drawing skills.

FAQs on Class 4 ICSE Syllabus

Q1. How many subjects are there in the Class 4 curriculum?

The all-inclusive ICSE syllabus for class 4 is developed to offer an advanced and intuitive learning experience to students. The syllabus consists of seven main subjects including, Maths, Science, Social Studies, Computer Studies, English, Second Language, and Arts Education.

Q2. What specific textbook is assigned to ICSE class 4?

The Council for The Indian School Certificate Exam (CISCE) board is responsible for regulating the India Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) board. All the books published under the ICSE board are managed by CISCE, a private education board in India regulating till class 10th.

Q3. How many subjects are compulsory in the ICSE syllabus?

By the time your child reaches 10th class, the board offers them a curriculum of seven subjects, divided into 3 groups. Group 1 consists of compulsory subjects such as English, Second Language, and Social Studies. Students can choose the remaining 3 subjects bifurcated into 2 groups based on the available options offered by the institute, aligning with their interests and future goals.

Q4. Are ICSE class 4 exams easy?

The ICSE board curriculum is structured with a range of subjects exploring complex and advanced concepts. The board is aligned as per the set global educational standards and requirements. The ICSE class 4 exams may seem challenging for some students, but with consistent practice and revision students can definitely crack the exams with appealing marks.

Admission Enquiry