ICSE Syllabus for Class 7

Class 7 is considered one of the most important classes in the secondary school education phase. The major portion of the ICSE class 7 syllabus covers the basic topics of core subjects taught in higher classes. Hence, building a strong foundation for students to appear and achieve good marks in the following academic stages.

The class 7 syllabus offers students a comprehensive and advanced learning experience within the broad categories of each core subject. Explore this page till the end to get a detailed idea about the ICSE class 7 curriculum.

Objectives of ICSE Class 7 Syllabus

Here are the top objectives of ICSE class 7 syllabus:

  • The primary objective of the class 7 syllabus is to establish strong foundational knowledge and skills for students preparing for national-level and other competitive examinations.
  • The curriculum puts significant emphasis on holistic development by including subjects that promote a well-rounded educational experience.
  • Inclusion of advanced assessment methods such as regular examinations, subject-wise projects, and practical learning sessions to evaluate students’ understanding of challenging concepts.

ICSE Class 7 Detailed syllabus

  • Mathematics
  • Mathematics is one of the major subjects of ICSE class 7 curriculum. The subject covers a range of topics such as advanced concepts of number systems, ratios and proportions, creations of algebraic expressions, recognising shapes, symmetry, understanding data handling, concepts of mensuration and more.

  • Science
  • The ICSE class 7 curriculum is divided into three sections, including Physics, Biology, and Chemistry. It is vital to note that the final marks of the subject are determined based on aggregate marks obtained by students in each section. The subject consists of comprehensive topics related to physical quantities and their measurements, laws of reflection, speed of light, sources of sounds, advanced concepts of electricity, food & micro-organisms, animals, plants, cells & tissues, fundamentals of chemistry, water molecules, acids, different compounds and other topics revolving around different aspects of the subject.

  • Social Studies
  • Bifurcated into two primary sections including History & Civics and Geography, the subject consists of topics revolving around The Renaissance era, the ancient history of India, the Indian judiciary, the fundamental rights and duties of citizens, the moments of Earth, observation of wind speed & direction, locating places on Earth, and more.

  • English
  • By the time students reach class 7th, they are introduced to the world of fiction and non-fiction stories covering a range of genres. The grammar section of the subject focuses on letter and creative writing, understanding active and passive voice, analogy, synonyms, antonyms, and other related concepts that help strengthen the basic understanding of grammar. The literary section of the subject covers interesting short stories and poems that focus on improving the reading and speaking skills of students.

  • Second Language
  • By the time students reach 7th class, they are introduced to interesting short stories and poems, helping them comprehend the creative aspects of the subject. The subject also focuses on grammar to help students not only speak but read and write in their regional languages.

  • Computer Application
  • Compared to previous classes, the curriculum includes complex and comprehensive theoretical and practical concepts of computer operations such as Microsoft Excel & PowerPoint, understanding animation & transitions, word art, slide layout, and more. Students are also given independent assignments to help them have a practical understanding of the concepts and improve their skills as per modern educational requirements.

FAQs on Class 7 ICSE Syllabus

Q1. Which is the most challenging subject for class 7?

Generally, Maths and science are considered the most challenging subjects in the ICSE class 7 syllabus. However, with regular practice and revision, students of class 7 can crack complex concepts and achieve favourable marks in the examinations.

Q2. What is the curriculum for class 7 ICSE?

The syllabus of ICSE class 7 consists of seven main subjects, including Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, English, Second Language, and Computer applications. The second language of the ICSE board may differ from one state to another across India. 

Q3. Is class 7 physics considered difficult?

Understanding complex calculations, theorems, and formulas along with derivations may require continuous practice and revisions. So yes, for some students class 7 physics can be a challenging subject. However, with regular revisions and practice, one can easily comprehend complex concepts of the ICSE class 7 syllabus and obtain desirable marks.

Q4. What topics are included in the Mathematic syllabus of ICSE class 7?

The students of ICSE class 7 are introduced to the extensive syllabus of Mathematics revolving around the concepts of natural and integer numbers, basic algebra, exponents, ratios & proportions, circles, triangles, geometry, theory of diagrams, and statistics.

Admission Enquiry