States And Capitals Of India & Union Territories Of India

states and capitals of India

India comprises 28 states and 8 Union territories. Each state and Union territory has its own unique cultural, historical, and geographical characteristics. This article will focus on the states and capitals of India and also some Union territories and its capitals.

Andhra Pradesh – Amaravati

Andhra Pradesh, located in southeastern India, is known for its rich cultural heritage and history. Its capital, Amaravati, is an ancient city with historical significance and is undergoing rapid modernisation.

Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar

Arunachal Pradesh, in India’s far northeast, is known for its diverse tribes and lush landscapes. Its capital, Itanagar, is named after the Ita fort, which dates back to the 14th-15th centuries.

Assam – Dispur

Assam, famous for its tea and silk, lies in the northeast of India. Dispur, its capital, is a suburb of the largest city, Guwahati, and is known for its scenic beauty and wildlife.

Bihar – Patna

Bihar, in eastern India, is known for its historical importance. Patna, its capital, has ancient historical significance, being the site of many empires.

Chhattisgarh – Raipur

Located in central India, Chhattisgarh is known for its forests and temples. Raipur, the capital, is a major commercial centre in the region.

Goa – Panaji

Goa, on the western coast, is famous for its beaches and Portuguese heritage. Panaji, the capital, is known for its old Portuguese-style architecture and beautiful coastline.

Gujarat – Gandhinagar

Situated on the western coast, Gujarat is known for its vibrant culture and economic prowess. Gandhinagar, its capital, is a planned city known for its greenery and architecture.

Haryana – Chandigarh

Haryana, in northern India, is known for its agriculture and manufacturing. Chandigarh, a Union Territory, serves as the joint capital of Haryana and Punjab. It’s known for its modernist architecture and urban design by Le Corbusier.

Himachal Pradesh – Shimla

Located in the Himalayas, Himachal Pradesh is famous for its mountain towns and resorts. Shimla, the capital, was the summer capital of British India and is known for its Victorian architecture.

Jharkhand – Ranchi

Jharkhand, rich in minerals, is located in eastern India. Ranchi, its capital, is known for its waterfalls and rich tribal culture.

Karnataka – Bengaluru

Located in the southwest, Karnataka is known for its high-tech industry. Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore), the capital, is the centre of India’s high-tech industry.

Kerala – Thiruvananthapuram

Lying along the Malabar Coast, Kerala is known for its backwaters and lush landscapes. Thiruvananthapuram, the capital, is known for its British colonial architecture and cultural institutions.

Madhya Pradesh – Bhopal

In central India, Madhya Pradesh is known for its historical sites and national parks. Bhopal, the capital, is a city with lakes and historical significance.

Maharashtra – Mumbai

Maharashtra, in western India, is the financial and entertainment hub. Mumbai, the capital, is the largest city and the heart of the Bollywood film industry.

Manipur – Imphal

Located in northeastern India, Manipur is known for its landscapes and classical dance. Imphal, the capital, is known for its historical sites from the World War II era.

Meghalaya – Shillong

Meghalaya, in the northeast, is known for its rainforests and biodiversity. Shillong, the capital, is called the “Scotland of the East” due to its picturesque surroundings.

Mizoram – Aizawl

Mizoram, in the northeast, is a land of rolling hills and valleys. Aizawl, the capital, is perched on ridges with a pleasant climate.

Nagaland – Kohima

Located in the far northeast, Nagaland is known for its indigenous tribes and festivals. Kohima, the capital, played a significant role in World War II.

Odisha – Bhubaneswar

Odisha, on the eastern coast, is known for its tribal cultures and ancient Hindu temples. Bhubaneswar, the capital, is famous for its ancient temples.

Punjab – Chandigarh

Punjab, in northern India, is known for its agricultural wealth. Chandigarh, as mentioned, serves as the capital for both Punjab and Haryana.

Rajasthan – Jaipur

Located in northwestern India, Rajasthan is known for its desert and palaces. Jaipur, the capital, is famed for its royal palaces and rich history.

Sikkim – Gangtok

Sikkim, in the Himalayas, is known for its biodiversity and monasteries. Gangtok, the capital, offers spectacular views of the Himalayas.

Tamil Nadu – Chennai

In southern India, Tamil Nadu is known for its Dravidian-style temples. Chennai, the capital, is a cultural, economic, and educational hub.

Telangana – Hyderabad

Formed in 2014 from Andhra Pradesh, Telangana is a centre for the technology industry. Hyderabad, its capital, is known for its historical sites and vibrant culture.

Tripura – Agartala

Tripura, in northeast India, is known for its palaces and temples. Agartala, the capital, is a cultural centre with diverse influences.

Uttar Pradesh – Lucknow

Located in northern India, Uttar Pradesh is known for its historical cities. Lucknow, the capital, is famed for its Nawabi-era architecture and cuisine.

Uttarakhand – Dehradun

In the northern part of India, Uttarakhand is known for its Hindu pilgrimage sites. Dehradun, the capital, is a gateway to the Himalayan tourist destinations.

West Bengal – Kolkata

West Bengal, in eastern India, is known for its cultural richness. Kolkata, the capital, is famous for its colonial architecture, art galleries, and cultural festivals.

Also Read: Volcanoes in India – Active and Dormant Volcanoes Explained

Union Territories and Its Capitals

Here’s a brief overview of each Union Territory and its significance:

Andaman and Nicobar Islands – Port Blair

This group of islands is renowned for its pristine beaches, clear waters, and vibrant coral reefs. It’s also historically significant for the infamous Cellular Jail, a colonial prison.

Chandigarh – Chandigarh (it’s also a city)

Chandigarh is a unique Union Territory as it serves as the capital of two states, Punjab and Haryana. It’s known for its modern architecture and urban design by the famous architect Le Corbusier.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu – Daman

These are two separate regions merged into a single Union Territory. They are known for their Portuguese colonial heritage and picturesque coastal scenery.

Lakshadweep – Kavaratti

An archipelago in the Arabian Sea, Lakshadweep is known for its exotic islands, sun-kissed beaches, and diverse marine life.

Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi) – New Delhi

Delhi, the national capital of India, is a Union Territory. It’s a city of historical significance and is the political hub of India, housing important government buildings like the Parliament and Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Puducherry – Puducherry

Puducherry, formerly known as Pondicherry, is known for its French colonial heritage, evident in its architecture and town planning.

Ladakh – Leh and Kargil (two administrative centres)

Ladakh was formed as a Union Territory in 2019. It’s renowned for its breathtaking landscapes, Buddhist monasteries, and unique culture.

Jammu and Kashmir –  Srinagar (summer), Jammu (winter)

Jammu and Kashmir also formed as a Union Territory in 2019, is known for its stunning natural beauty, with picturesque valleys, mountains, and gardens.

Also Read: Top Ten Activities for Kids to Learn Geography

EuroSchool uses interactive, technology-enhanced methods to teach geography, focusing on global awareness and practical applications.

Admission Enquiry