All You Need to Know About the Difference between Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha

difference between lok sabha and rajya sabha

Parliament of India includes the President, Lok Sabha (Lower House), and Rajya Sabha (Upper House.) The Rajya Sabha is known as the Council of States. The Lok Sabha is known as the House of the People.


Also Read: Measures by Election Commission for Smooth Polling

Difference Between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

India has a bicameral legislature known as the Parliament. In Indian politics, the terms “Lok Sabha” and “Rajya Sabha” were first used in 1954. Articles 79 through 122 of the Indian Constitution are covered by the laws passed by the Indian Parliament. The following are some of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha differences:

Basis of Comparison

Lok Sabha

Rajya Sabha


It is referred to as the Lower House or House of People, where laws and legislation are formed to improve India’s management.

It is defined as the Upper House of the Parliament or the Council of States, which defends the rights of the several states.

Constitutional Provision

Article 81 deals with the composition of the House of People.

Article 80 is associated with the composition of the Council of States.

Election for Membership     

The general public participates in the voting process to elect the members of the Lok Sabha.

The members of the state legislative assemblies of the states and union territories choose the members of the Rajya Sabha.

Election Principle

Universal Adult Franchise is applied for the Lok Sabha election.

There are single transferable votes used for the Rajya Sabha poll. It is based on proportional representation.

Minimum Age

One must be at least 25 years old to become an MP (Member of Parliament) of the Lok Sabha.

One has to be at least 30 years old to be an MP (Member of Parliament) in the Rajya Sabha.

Tenure Period

Normally, the Lok Sabha has a five-year term. The Lok Sabha is dissolved after a five-year term.

For the Rajya Sabha as a whole, there is no term limit because it is a fixed house of government. It can’t be dissolved. But, a third of the Rajya Sabha members leave the house every two years.


The strength of the Lok Sabha ranges from 500 to 552. Presently, there is a total of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha.

The strength of the Rajya Sabha ranges from 200 to 250. Currently, there are 245 seats in the Rajya Sabha.

Also Read: Elections in India

Functions of Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha has many different functions. The Lok Sabha makes laws, talks about issues of national interest, passes money bills for financial management, and chooses its leader to run the house’s business.

  1. Legislative Powers –
  2. For a bill to become law, it must be approved by both houses of parliament. Before being introduced in the Rajya Sabha, a bill must first be passed by the Lok Sabha. A bill gets remitted to the Lok Sabha if it is rejected by the Rajya Sabha. The bill reaches deadlock if, upon review, the Rajya Sabha remains unsatisfied with the changes. Suppose a deadlock cannot be broken after six months. In that case, the Indian President may call a joint session of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha under Article 108 of the Indian Constitution.

  3. Financial Powers –
  4. The Lok Sabha has access to many financial resources. The money bill may only be presented in the Lok Sabha, under Article 109. The power to decide on a money bill rests with the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. The financial plans of the government can only be carried out with the approval of the Lok Sabha.

  5. Executive Powers –
  6. The Indian Constitution’s Article 73(3) states that the Council of Ministers is responsible to the Lok Sabha collectively. The political party that has a majority in the Lok Sabha selects the prime minister. A no-confidence motion in the ministry may be passed by the Lok Sabha.

  7. Public Powers –
  8. Lok Sabha’s members are elected officials with the authority to debate and discuss a wide range of subjects related to the general welfare. Discussions in the Parliamentary House might focus on issues about finances, public spending, etc. In Indian Polity, the talks and debates in parliament serve as checks and balances.

  9. Electoral Functions –
  10. The Lok Sabha members are eligible to vote in the presidential election. Article 66 of the Indian Constitution states that the members of both houses may choose an Indian Vice-President together.

Also Read: Electoral Process in India

Functions of Rajya Sabha

In the study of Indian politics, the Rajya Sabha is known as the Council of States. It is important for India’s establishment of a bicameral legislature. In response to the Central Legislature, it defends the rights of the Indian states. Here are the functions of the Rajya Sabha:

  1. Legislative Functions –
  2. A bill cannot be passed without the Rajya Sabha.

  3. Executive Functions –
  4. Rajya Sabha members can criticise, ask questions, and move adjournment.

  5. Judicial Functions –
  6. If the President violates the Constitution, the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha have the authority to impeach him.

  7. Electoral Functions –
  8. Members of the Rajya Sabha, the Lok Sabha, and the State Legislative Assembly have the authority to choose India’s president and vice president.

  9. Amendment Functions –
  10. Rajya Sabha can pass a constitutional amendment bill together with the Lok Sabha, with a 2/3 vote in each house.

Every citizen’s civic literacy needs to know the differences between the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha elections. Both are important for India’s democratic system. Yet they differ greatly in terms of their makeup, methods of election, and roles. The Lok Sabha facilitates more efficient government by the elected members, while the Rajya Sabha maintains the bicameral structure of the Indian Parliament.

In search of a   that promises to strengthen the academic foundation of your kids? Consider EuroSchool! You can check out our campuses in the cities –

Schools in Pune

Schools in Mumbai

Schools in Bangalore

Schools in Hyderabad

Admission Enquiry